When you create an event registration will automatically be enabled. If you want to keep registration closed until a specific time you are able to disable event registration until you are ready to accept registrations. 

From the Registration tab select the Summary menu item and then click the "Disable Event Registration" button. Registration is now unavailable. 

To open registration again click the "Enable Registration" button.